10 graphic novels to read if you liked the show

Heart attack is one of Netflix’s most unique and moving new offerings. The emotional and romantic core of the series comes almost literally from the online comics and graphic novel series that serve as inspiration for the TV commercialization, and the more intimate and emotionally charged moments are almost photocopied.

Author Alice Oseman co-created the series, and those who love the TV series will no doubt love the graphic novel. And as excellent as Heart attack the comics are, there are so many other stories in the same spirit that are more than worth reading.

Bloom

Savanna Ganucheau is the artist and author behind the charming graphic novel Bloom. This story follows a baker who is tired of his job and needs a change of pace. As he begins to train a passionate young man to replace himself, they get closer and closer. The love that blossoms from their meeting is very similar to Nick and Charlies.

More than just a story, the art style is often reminiscent Heart attack‘s, but perhaps with more details. The real star of the show is the food that Ganucheau portrays in tantalizing details that only a true foodie can deliver. As a native of Louisiana, Ganucheau has probably seen the best of the best in terms of food.

Nimona

Nimona is the story of a shapely young girl who becomes a sidekick to a chivalrous but villainous knight. The story takes place in a unique universe that mixes technology and magic. It seems to choose how medieval and how modern the surroundings are of the moments the plot needs.

This award-winning graphic novel comes from ND Stevenson, who continues to develop incredible series with strong queer themes. Stevenson’s second major work is Lumberjacksabout a summer camp for girls who have mysterious secrets throughout – both of these projects are developed into animated series, with Nimona get an accompanying film adaptation.

Encourage yourself: Love and pompoms

Comfort! is the story of two high school girls who want to become cheerleaders. Beatrice and Annie are two strange characters who set a goal and move towards it, despite the many battles that arise when their goal and identity collide. Their own individual identities form the core of the story.

Beatrice, a transsexual, finds her identity challenged as she takes the step to join the cheerleading team. Annie, as an antisocial lesbian, struggles with university applications and lack of social life – the two revive a previous friendship while learning the ropes and figuring out how to contribute to a team of encouragement.

Stone fruit

Stone fruit is one of the saddest novels on this list, in part because it’s a story at the end of a relationship, rather than the beginning. Bron and Ray are two queer lesbians who have been living together for some time and feel the stress of a long-term relationship that is starting to weigh on them. Then comes Ray’s niece.

This niece, Annie, gives her two aunts a bridge to develop a new relationship, whether it is between them, between Ray and Annie’s religious mother or between Bron and his teenage sister. This novel is very melancholy with its blue watercolor style, but it creates something hopeful and down to earth.

Daughter of the Sea: A graphic novel

As it should be, this novel is closely related to the previous one Nimona. Daughter of the sea is a work of the mind of Molly Ostertag, wife of ND Stevenson. Although there are clear themes the two share in their works, Molly has an incredible career in herself with a trilogy of queer books behind her, starting with The boy wizard.

Daughter of the sea follows the story of a teenage girl, Morgan, who handles the stress of her family, friends and life in the closet. One night she almost drowned, but is rescued by a mysterious girl named Keltie. The slowly blossoming romance between the two is a slow burn that reflects it Heart attack Okay – this is a great happy read for Pride Month.

Laura Dean keeps looking up to me

Unlike many others on this list, Laura Dean keeps looking up to me is an Eisner Award-winning graphic novel about a couple coming out of the closet. the story is much less a love story and more a “relationship management” story. Although the topic and themes are closely linked Heart attackthis story has its own, more mature direction.

Freddy, a lesbian teenager, is stuck in an on-again-off-again relationship with the titular Laura Dean. Most of the story follows how she seeks advice from a columnist, a psychic and a close friend. The advice she receives may be revealing about readers’ relationships and love life, or they may be entering unfamiliar territory.

Please check!

Please check! shares many details with headphone. Both started life as webcomics before being put together into graphic novels. Both have sports as a central theme – Heart attack with rugby and Please check! with hockey. The two also follow young gay men trying to find themselves in life.

Please check! doing some very unique things that make it unique, like backing up in the fall and Twitter standing for the main character Eric, who also vlogs the novels. The story is very charming and sweet, and uses the hockey player’s framework much more to drive the plot – and the romance – forward.

Pixels of you

A much more amazing novel than most, Pixels of you is a sci-fi graphic novel that explores identity in many ways, both inside and outside the body. Science fiction is generally one of the most exploratory and philosophical genres and is often at the forefront of exploration beyond gender and sexuality binary.

Indira and Fawn are two young women working in an art studio in the near future. They are distant and ignorant of each other, but when they work and learn together, they become more than friends. Indira helps Fawn learn more about her AI identity, while Fawn helps Indira come to terms with her trauma and loss.

fun house

No list of queer-themed graphic novels is complete without Allison Bechdels. fun house. This autobiographical graphic novel tells the story of Allison’s young life in Fun Home and beyond – her and her brother’s name for the family funeral home – as well as her handling of her father’s death years later. late.

This graphic novel is one of the most respected and loved in the medium, thanks to powerful images, well-written emotions and deeper readings in the text. Since its release, this graphic novel has been adapted into an (also award-winning) off-Broadway musical that follows the same story. This novel is an excellent introduction to the medium for beginners.

Spinning

Spinning is a graphic novel and memoir in the same spirit as fun house. Author and cartoonist Tillie Walden tells the story of her own growing age as a young figure skater and the struggles she faced at the time. This story covers her own struggles with sexuality, bullying and traumatic experiences as a young girl.

Although sometimes very difficult to read, it gives readers a raw and honest portrait of the difficulties of life for young homosexuals. Although many queer works of art today push for more optimistic, happy and idealistic representations, it is important to recognize the realities that many queer youths still face today.

Wolverine has a secret weapon against Deadpool’s comic conscience

Leave a Comment